The UK Border Agency has introduced various categories which permit you to work in the UK if you are a non EEA national

Kinds of UK Visas Permitting Employment

The UK replaced its previous immigration system with the Tier Point Based System. The tiers are as following:

Tier 1: This category includes Tier 1 (Exceptional talent), Tier 1 (Entrepreneur), Tier 1 (Investor), Tier 1 (Post-study work), and Tier 1 (General) these Tier 1 categories allow high value migrants to come and work in the UK and contribute to the growth and development of the country.

Tier 2: This category includes Tier 2 (General), Tier 2 (Minister of religion), Tier 2 (Sportsperson) and Tier 2 (Intra company transfer) this category is designed for skilled workers who have a job offer while in the UK or when entering the country. Please contact one of Asher Tomar Solicitor Visas representative today for further information on these categories.

Tier 4: Designed for students (Please note there are certain working restriction, please check the rules for this category on our website or contact a one of our representative for further information.)

Tier 5: This is a temporary worker categories and includes Tier 5 (Temporary worker – creative and sporting), Tier 5 (Temporary worker – charity workers), Tier 5 (Temporary worker – religious workers), Tier 5 (Temporary worker – government authorised exchange), Tier 5 (Temporary worker – international agreement) and Tier 5 (Youth mobility scheme) In order to meet primary non-economic objectives, temporary workers and workers covered under Youth Mobility Scheme are allowed to work for a specific time frame.

Below are some of the easiest routes to obtain a UK work visa and enter the country:

UK Spouse Visa
UK Ancestry Visa
Having an EU or British passport
Domestic Workers
Contract Seaman
Representative of Overseas Business
Clinical Attachments
Film Crew on Location
Overseas Qualified Doctors taking the PLAB Test
Postgraduate Doctors and Dentists

It is possible you may be eligible for more than one visa category. However, each category will have its own requirements, validity periods and other restrictions. Additionally, the length of time the applicant is permitted to stay in the UK and whether dependants are allowed to accompany the applicant also varies from category to category. Applicants are advised to choose the category that best suits their situation, please contact one of our representatives at Asher Tomar Solicitor Visas for further information.

Most of visa categories offer permanent residency status on the successful completion of the required number of years in the UK.