EEA Residence Permit

The EEA residence permit is especially designed for nationals of EEA member countries to enable them to live and work freely in the UK without any restrictions. EEA nationals, along with their dependants, can live and work in the UK for a period of 5 years. According to European Community Law, EEA nationals are given the legal right to reside in the UK along with any dependants. Residence permit holders from EEA countries are in most cases free to work without any necessity for a work permit. In some cases, residence permit holders are required to register under the Worker Registration Scheme. If EEA nationals able to support themselves financially without accessing to public funds then it is not compulsory for EEA nationals to undertake employment.


Whilst the permit is for 5 years, EEA nationals are able to apply to stay in the UK indefinitely. After successfully completing a period of 4 years in the UK, EEA nationals become eligible to apply for Indefinite Leave to Remain, which is also known as Permanent Residence. Those EEA nationals who have successfully obtained Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) or Permanent Residence are eligible to apply for British naturalization.