English being the official language spoken in the UK, all applicants who wish to immigrate to the UK are required to have a minimum level of proficiency in the language or a score of 10 in the points based system.

Scoring points for English

Predominantly, there are three ways in which an applicant can score points in the English language criteria. The three main ways comprise of:

Belonging to or being a natural citizen of a country where English is the main language spoken Passing an English language test such as TOEFL
Possessing a degree that is equivalent to a bachelor’s degree in English

There are also other ways which a person can validate their English proficiency.
An applicant who previously was permitted entry to the UK under the Tier 1 Entrepreneur category.
An applicant who was previously permitted entry to the UK under the Highly Skilled Migrant Programme after 7 November 2006.
An applicant who has passed the English requirement test and had previously obtained permission to stay in the UK under a Tier 2 Visa.

Countries belonging to the majority English speaking list

Applicants from the countries below will not be required to take the English language test as they are considered majority English speaking countries:

Antigua and Barbuda
The Bahamas
New Zealand
St Kitts and Nevis
St Vincent & the Grenadines
St Lucia
Trinidad and Tobago